Michigan-Detroit

NWR: WWWYD?

I'm dealing with a monetary situation, and I'm curious what others would do in my position.  This may be a little long, since I don't know what specifics might sway your decision, so I'll include a summary at the bottom if you want to skip there.

Before meeting DH, I had lived with Ex-BF for three years.  He lives on disability checks ($615/month) due to several serious illnesses, and I'm a student, so we lived rather...er...frugally.  I always paid the rent in full because the landlord preferred one check.  I also paid utilities, and he would pay for groceries.  At the end of the month, I would tally what each person owed the other for their share of these expenses, and whoever owed the most would pay the other person the difference.

When I went back to school, the monthly tallies became every two months, and sometimes as much as every five months, because I was just so busy.  Settling up promptly didn't seem to matter much, because we intended to stay together "forever" anyway, so it would all get done eventually.  At the time we broke up, he owed me $2-3000.  This isn't an enormous amount, but it was half my savings at the time and even now would help with some medical bills that we're expecting to have to pay.