Oregon

recommend your officiant!

that sounds so weird, but I really need help.  we're doing an episcopalian/lutheran/jewish ceremony to appease all the different religions in the family, and ourselves really since we like all the traditions.  it's not as bad as it sounds, i'm a writer so i'm pretty much writing the whole ceremony from a hodgepodge of traditional services.  but we still haven't found someone to officiate.  some we checked out seemed open but after one said he had many couples "get married under a hookah" i gave up. has anyone used Bryon Mengle?  I'm curious about him.  After this the next step seems to be getting a friend ordained online, but for some reason i'm not totally on board with that yet.  advice?  recs?   Thanks!!
Lilypie Third Birthday tickers
Lilypie Maternity tickers

It's Always Sunny on St. Paddy's Day

Re: recommend your officiant!

• edited December 2011
    Try this site. I personally have not contacted them yet.. But My wedding is still well over a year away. www.ABeautifulAffairOfTheHeart.com
  • edited December 2011
    Choose someone important to you to marry you.   My uncle is going to marry us.  A friend is going to marry another one of our friends.  That way, you can have them say exactly what you want if you are writing it anyway.  Plus, it saves money!
  • Mrs.FelicityMrs.Felicity member
    First Comment
    edited December 2011
    We had a friend marry us instead of a paid officiant.  Anyone can register at www.ulc.org and they are legally able to perform weddings in Oregon.
  • edited December 2011
    For those who had a friend marry you, how did it turn out? Did the person mess up? Was it obvious he/she was just a friend and not a seasoned wedding person?
  • edited December 2011