Indiana
Options

NWR: Need some advice...

Ok, gals... I am considering getting into the wedding business as a DOC, or event planner.  I have a degree in business, which doesnt exactly apply... butMy question for you all... what experience, qualities, etc do you look for in a wedding vendor?  Would you hire someone just getting into the field?  What qualifications would you want to see?Thanks in advance for any thoughts... (and I am NOT trying to sell any services, just gathering info to see if this is an avenue I should persue or not.)

Re: NWR: Need some advice...

• Options
    edited December 2011
    I am big on a professional presentation... not so much actual experience.  If you had a nice website with descriptions of packages and some pics of your work, I would pay a lot more attention to that than actual references.  Also, I narrowed down my event planners by the overall "feel" of their advertisements, then actually picked the person that got back to me first.  It was extremely important to me that the person I hired for this be very accessible.I think that the degree in business would be highly helpful.  I would hire you, though you may have to work a little cheaper at first.  I think you would be great at it judging from the wedding you've put together for yourself!  So, synoposis:  To me, overall experience is much less important than professionalism, enthusiasm, and accessiblity.
  • Options
    edited December 2011