Jewish Weddings
Options

What's wrong with dancing?

I see from a previous post that male-female dancing is not done at some Orthodox weddings. What's the reason for the prohibition on a husband and wife dancing together? To me it seems like the most way to celebrate a joyous occasion. Can someone please explain the reasoning behind this. TIA.
Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml

Re: What's wrong with dancing?

• Options
    RachiemooRachiemoo member
    First Anniversary First Comment Combo Breaker
    edited December 2011
    I don't believe that Orthodox Jews think that there is anything wrong with a husband and wife dancing together.  Many choose and prefer to do this sort of thing in private though.The reason for this [and I'm not an expert so please, someone correct me if I'm wrong] is that for those that follow the laws of family purity, husband and wife can not touch during your period and for the 7 days after your period is over.  Therefore, a lot of observant Jews choose to not touch in public at all, or to only touch minimally so that those around them will not know when they are niddah (when you are menstruating / before you have gone into the mikvah).  Also, generally some people may feel it is not modest to touch in public or it may just be the custom of their communities to not touch in public.Observant Jews who aren't married are generally shomer negiah, so they wouldn't dance with someone of the opposite sex anyways.Separate dancing allows people to dance without having to worry about any issues.You may remember that Jews who have just been married often hold a napkin at both ends and "dance" together without touching, this is where that custom comes from.
    image BabyFruit Ticker Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker
  • Options
    edited December 2011