Wedding Photography and Videography Forum
Options

Amateur photographers for a destination wedding

I am having a hard time deciding on what to do about my photographer. I have a VERY limited budget and I am a photographer myself so I have very high expectations. I am almost wishing I could photograph my own wedding :)
     My wedding is going to be a 6 hour drive away and the local photogs are either too expensive or not good enough. So I am thinking about asking 2 girls from one of my photography class to do my photos. They are not pros but I love their work and since neither have ever done a wedding, having both of them there will ease my mind, since it is much more likely I will get pics I will like.
     I will cover the cost of travel, hotel, and food and it will be about $150-200 total. Plus they would be free to invite whoever else they want an could have their own mini vacation on the beach. I know as a college student I would work for free if it earned me a free weekend on the beach. Should I pay them an extra $100 each or should it be more?

Re: Amateur photographers for a destination wedding

• Options
    lwolfflwolff member
    First Comment
    edited December 2011
    I am new to the photographer thing, but how can you have high expectations of someone who has never photographed a wedding before? As a photographer, what would you tell one of your clients? If I were to hire you, could I pay you $200 for a destination wedding?

Based on my little experience that I have had with regards to meeting with photographers, I cannot get a local photographer to photograph my wedding locally for $200. I also think that may be a lot of pressure to put on a student...

For me, photography is important, I just don't know what bells and whistles I should expect. Living in NY, I expect to pay anywhere from $2k-$10k on photography.

Just my thoughts.
  • Options
    cukimerrydollcukimerrydoll member
    First Comment
    edited December 2011