Canada-Ontario

Wholesale flowers

Looking for suggestions on where I can order flowers in bulk..

If anyone can help..

I was going to order from costco but notice that the canadian site has far less selection than the us site...dont think they will ship to canada

Thanks!
Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml

Re: Wholesale flowers

• naomikbnaomikb member
    Combo Breaker First Comment
    edited June 2012
    You can order from Costco - just go into the store during daytime hours and talk to them, the florist can order in whatever you need so that it is definitely in stock for your wedding day.  They have cheap pre-made boutonnieres (and corsages I think) too, with a single rose so you don't have to make them yourself.

Go into the store, don't try to order off the website - the website is quite limited.

There are also some bulk flower/auction places in Toronto but I have no experience with them.
  • as someone who previously worked in flower wholesale (in calgary not toronto) I feel I should warn you that MOST wholesalers will NOT sell to the public and if they do the price is jacked up to almost retail.

that being said, many florists will order flowers for you from the wholesaler and give you a better deal on them.

another word of caution: have you ever worked with wholesale flowers before?
    they are not as easy to deal with as you may think...for example:

Roses come bunched so tight they need to be set in jugs of water loosely for up to 3 days just to open and the outer protective petals need to be removed.

lily's come unbloomed and if you are not careful they easily rot if not treated properly.

in addition to that, you buy wholesale by the bunch not the stem, IE roses come in bunches  of 25 so if you only need 60, you MUST buy them by the bunch and get 75.

also, if you are not a florist its hard to know how to treat the flowers to ensure they will last through your day without wilting/drooping and so forth.