Rhode Island

Hair and Make-up references

I'm getting Married in October this year, have everything else in motion, Venue: Cranston Country Club, Florist: The Flower Girls, Photographer: Keri-Rae Photography, DJ: Lou Paz, Dress: David's Bridal, Cake: Sin Desserts, and Tuxes: Men's Wearhouse. But I have no idea for hair and make-up, I'm kind of new to Rhode Island (moved here in October 2011) So I don't know where to even start for looking at hair places. I don't have a huge budget for hair and make-up. And I have 1 maid of honor and 4 bridesmaids, and I was wondering what the etiquette was for getting their hair and make up done. Does the bride pay for that or do they pay themselves? Any help would be useful. Thank you!

Re: Hair and Make-up references

• edited March 2012
    I am using Simply Beautiful by Kristin Greene for hair and makeup - she comes highly recommended on this board.  I think she is fabulous, she makes little goody bags for everyone after they've gotten ready and she travels to where you are getting ready.  Sara Faella & her glam squad, Skinplicity are both highly recommended, along with Sam C. who does hair.

I told my girls that they have the option of doing hair, make-up or both, but that they would be responsible for paying.  All but 1 wants to get their hair done, 2 will be getting make-up.  But I'm fine with them looking different, all do their make-up everyday so I'm not worried about that and the 1 girl who's not doing her hair, has short hair, so I don't think it'll be noticable in pictures.

IMHO, I think if you require the girls to get hair/makeup done, you should let them know wayy in advance and give them the option of picking where they go to get it done.  If you want them to do what you want, I would offer to pay at least a portion of it, if not offering to pay the whole thing (maybe as their gift?).
    Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml
  • Sarah Rebello - Hairstylist
    Jan Simone - Makeup Artist