Wedding Hair, Makeup, & Beauty Forums
Options

DIY waxing

Hey girls,

I've never done a bikini wax before and am way too modest to let someone do it for me. I was wondering if anyone knows of good at-home waxing brands and if they have any tips to help me. I figured I would try it out now (since the wedding is still 4 months away) and make sure I don't have any adverse reactions to it. If all goes well I'd like to do it for the wedding/honeymoon.

Thanks!
There's only 1 way 2 say those 3 words and that's what I'll do... I love you Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Re: DIY waxing

• Options
    Sally Hansen makes a lot of at home waxing products. I haven't used them, but if I did I would start there. 
  • Options
    naomikbnaomikb member
    Combo Breaker First Comment
    edited May 2011
    I do it all the time at home, I can't justify the $35-$45 to get it done at the salon. 

I love the Nair Easy Wax.  It's microwaveable (in a plastic tub) and comes with wooden spatulas.  No strips of fabric or paper, you just spread the wax on and wait a little bit until it hardens/cools, and rip it off.

Any leftovers you can just reheat at a later date - some people talk about germs getting in the wax but I figure when you heat it really hot, anything that might be in there gets killed.

They are usually $8-$14 for a tub and it lasts me />2 bikini waxes.
  • Options
    if it's simply modesty hold you back from waxing, i would definitely try to go professional. you'll get much better results that way. they're trained to do what they do, and have seen a zillion hoo-hahs in their time.
    the first time i went, it was definitely a weird situation, but if you've gone to a gyno, you can go to a waxer!

• Options
    edited June 2011