North Carolina-Outer Banks
Options

Just Started Planning!

Hi everyone! I'm recently engaged and starting to plan the wedding. October 8th, 2012, Kill Devil Hills - Karma I. I need all the help I can get, I'm from Iowa!! I've requested to join the FB group OBX 2011-12 Knotties, it seems like that's the place to be. Any advice for newbies?!

Re: Just Started Planning!

• Options
    Carygirl14Carygirl14 member
    First Comment
    edited December 2011

Welcome!  I'm new to planning too.  The best advice I've gotten so far is to go to the Expo in January so you can meet all the vendors, talk with them and see who really works with your style/personality.  I also love checking out everyones reviews so I know which vendors might be good...and which ones to avoid.  Have you picked a venue for the ceremony and reception?

• Options
    edited December 2011
    We got married last October ('10) in the OBX and it was absolutely the most beautiful weather I've experienced down there (coming from a life-long vacationer) so you picked a great month!!! 

I have nothing but amazing things to say about all my vendors, so please let me know if you need any recs. My best advice is to hire a planner/coordinator. It's so much harder planning a wedding from afar, and they really do a lot of the leg work for you. Good luck, and have fun!!! 
    Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml
  • Options
    mccann58mccann58 member
    First Anniversary First Comment
    edited December 2011