Massachusetts-Cape Cod

Some photography questions

Hi all!

First time poster, but I've been benefiting from checking out this board for a few months now!  I am getting married in June 2014 in the Upper Cape.  I am super overwhelmed with the plethora of photographers mentioned/recommended on this site and others.  Here's a few questions - how far in advance did you book your photographer? Do you think it's important that your photographer has shot at your venue before? Does anyone have any recommendations? I don't know quite how to describe my style, but I am drawn to more artistic, vintage, sun-kissed kind of photographs, if that makes sense. A lot of the photographers that I like online are in the mid 3K to low 4K range, but I'm trying to stick to a 3K maximum.

Love to hear your thoughts!

Re: Some photography questions

• Hi!  I'm from Philadelphia getting married in Cape Cod too :)  I just booked my venue 2 weeks ago for Sept 2014 so I'm in the photography research stage at this time. 
    I was SUPER overwhelmed when I did a search for photographers for Boston and Cape Cod as well!  I would first suggest you figure out exactly what you want (in terms of a package) so you can compare photographer prices.  
    For me I want 2 shooters (highly recommended esp. if you have a larger wedding), "all day" or 10 hour coverage bc I want first look pictures along with pictures of us getting ready, an engagement shoot, rights to my pictures (so I can print the photos I want) and an album.  Pick out what is important to you.