Military Brides

Before/After Deployment.... pros and cons?

BF asked me again last night whether I'd want to get married before or after he deploys.  I know he's planning to propose soon, but part of me wants to save the actual wedding planning until he actually proposes, so I keep telling him we'll figure that out once we're engaged.  He's fine with that... just excited.

Anyway, he's in the Navy and will be deploying in August.  As a teacher, I could SO EASILY get married in the summer before he deploys, but then we'd only have a few weeks together before he's gone. 

If you had to make a similar decision, what were the pros and cons that you came up with?  I know we'll ultimately make the decision that is right for us and our particular situation, but since I'm expecting a proposal soon, it would be great if you ladies could give me some "talking points" and things to think about when we actually do decide on a wedding date.

TIA!
Daisypath Wedding tickers

Re: Before/After Deployment.... pros and cons?

• Beachy730Beachy730 member
    First Anniversary Combo Breaker First Comment
    edited December 2011
    Personally we chose to get married before he deployed.  We moved across the country from everyone we know, and if we weren't married I wouldn't have any access to the base, the wives support groups, etc.  We had only planned on getting married before he deployed, and I was fine moving before we were married, but the way it worked out for us we ended up getting married about a month before our move.