Military Brides

Need some opinions please!!

OK so here is some back round information. My fiance and I are planning a June 2012 wedding. We have everything set in place for it to happen and I'm super excited for it all!!!

We recently moved into our first apartment together. He is active guard reserves so we have no on base housing. I'm a student and working part-time and we are just making enough money to pay the bills. So my fiance asked me if I would be willing to do a JOP and then do the whole big wedding thing in June like we originally planned. Because we would make almost $600 more a month being married. 

I don't know what to do though. On one hand it would be nice to have that extra money and we could get caught up on all our bills and then we could go on an awesome honeymoon. But I'm worried that our wedding won't be as special. We'll already be married.Plus I don't know how people would look at our wedding since we'd already be married.

I don't want to give up any aspect of my "dream" wedding. I'm already giving up a lot because of our money situation. So I guess I'm looking for opinions and some advice on all of this. Please give me some help.
Wedding Countdown Ticker

Re: Need some opinions please!!

• kyrgyzstankyrgyzstan member
    First Anniversary 5 Love Its Name Dropper Combo Breaker
    edited December 2011
    There are mixed opinions on this. I refused to get married for BAH, regardless of what bills it caught us up on, or how it helped our housing situation (FI has been in 10 years and has on-base housing that takes his entire single rate BAH, in a development where junior enlisted get refunds from their BAH), etc. I think if you feel like it'll make your wedding less special, then it will. For some people the religious aspect of being married matters most, but you will be his wife, not his fiancee. Just know that everyone your H works with will call you his wife, because you will in fact legally be his wife.