Plus-Sized
Options

Nails?

I have short stubby fingers. I affectionately call them "sausage fingers." Haha. Longer nails will make my fingers look longer, so I've decided to get acryllics put on. Here's my question though: Should I just go with a french manicure or go one solid color? My colors are navy and light gray, so I thought about doing navy, but will the break up in color make them look skinnier? Any advice?
Wedding Countdown Ticker

Re: Nails?

• Options
    It's what you prefer, but when I get fake nails, I stick with a french manicure.  I only prefer solid color on my short (read: natural) nails.
    I'm not good at feelings.

• Options
    I usually get a french manicure when I have acrylic nails.  I think it looks so pretty.  I much prefer it to a solid color.
    imageAnniversary
  • Options
    IMOfor a color like NAVY....you should have shorter nails or it tends to look vampy.  A light gray color might look nice depending on your skin tone.  I am not a fan of a french, but I am not fan of acrylic nails either. I suck. Sorry!

If it were me....I would try and use a nail strengthening product like OPI Nail Envy or Sally Hansen maximum growth and grow your natural nails out long enough to wear a nice navy color.  I don't know exactly what shade of NAVY you are going for....but OPI RUSSIAN NAVY is beautiful.  It comes in a matte finish as well.  The one that is not matte has a little bit of a purpleish shimmer to it. Good luck!
  • Options
    If you are on the more daring side.......you could always do a NAVY color with a gray shatter....best of both worlds. :)
  • Options
    Sorry, I vote french.

I'm just seeing navy nails against a white dress (are you wearing white?) and I'm weird... that's something that would distract me most of the day. It's not like lifting your dress a few inches for bright red shoes, you know?

I just think french looks classier.
  • Options
    edited January 2012