Students

Any other medical students?

Hi!

My name is Justine, I'm 24, and I'm a medical student. My boyfriend and I are planning to get engaged sometime this year, and plan to get married in the spring of 2012, around the time I will graduate from medical school.

My bf (future fiance!) is currently a graduate student focusing on environmental science and will be working on his thesis for most of the coming year. I am just wondering if any of you have any advice for us as to how to plan a wedding around such a busy schedule!

Also, I find myself getting distracted by all the engagement/wedding talk and it sometimes makes it difficult to focus on studying! (haha) If anyone has advice on how to keep the excitement from becoming a distraction, I would really appreciate it!

Congratulations to all of you!!!!
Justine

Re: Any other medical students?

• Hi Justine!  My name is Melanie and I'm a fourth year student (graduating in 5 weeks!).  I'm not getting married until 10/2011, but we got engaged 10/2009, and I've had TONS of time to plan.  Fourth year is a great time to get married - you'll have lots of time to actually have the wedding, and to plan last minute details.  Third year is really busy but you'll find time to get done everything that needs to get done.  It's also really nice having a long engagement - I'm glad that I won't be feeling as crunched even when residency starts, I'm sure you'll feel the same way.

Anyway, congrats and good luck!
  • Hello and WELCOME!!! I am another 4th year, going into Radiology :) 

I am soo happy that I have only had this distraction for a short while, otherwise I probably would have failed med school, lol!! As I type I have 7 tabs open, haha.

I agree with Melanie, 3rd year is really busy but you will find time, it is busy & hectic like 1st & 2nd but in a different way.

Best of luck!
    Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml