Georgia-Savannah

June too hot for an outdoor wedding and reception?

Hey everyone!!

So, my boyfriend and I literally just got engaged Friday, but everyone is already dying to know when the big day is actually going to be. Now, we both know that we'd love a completely outdoors wedding, and it's been my dream for a long time to have it at my parents house. They live in Southeast Georgia, where the humidity and heat can be down right sinister. I would LOOVEE to have the big day on June 11 (exactly a year from when he proposed). But I'm concerned; would having an oudoors wedding in Southeast Georgia (more like Waverly than Savannah) at the beginning of June be cruel to our guests? I mean, July and August are bloody awful down there! I'd like to avoid April and May because I'm a dance teacher which means Recital will rule my world. September could work, but it'd have to be late, and I like Summer better! Ahhh! So many things to consider.

Anyone have any advice?

Thanks!
Love-
Paige

Re: June too hot for an outdoor wedding and reception?

• iluvmytxrgriluvmytxrgr member
    First Anniversary 5 Love Its Name Dropper Combo Breaker
    edited December 2011
    I'm in Savannah.  It is 100 degrees today.  Granted, that is not normal for us, but you really never know.  I wouldn't do it outside between June and mid September.  Not only do you have to worry about the heat, but we also get afternoon thunderstorms and the bugs are awful. 
    Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml
  • edited December 2011

Hello and how are you doing ? I am in Savannah and I have been here for 29 years. I would never get marrried in June. I hate the heat anyway ... It was 80 degrees at 6am this morning ...lol .. when did yall meet ? maybe you could do it on that day.

Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker
  • edited December 2011

Congratulations on your engagement!