Michigan-Lansing
Options

Need Lansing Venue and new photographer

Hey, ladies. I'm having reception venue issues and am trying to find a new location for a September wedding. I don't really want a golf course or boring banquet hall, nor do I want anything outdoor. We already have an awesome caterer who we are loathe to give up, so it has to be somewhere that accomodates her. We'd also like to keep it as close to downtown as possible instead of having to drive half an hour to Williamston or Charlotte. Any suggestions?

Also, I've had two photographers cancel on me due to 'scheduling errors,' so I'm trying to find somebody good in the $1800-$2200 price range (I'm a photographer, so no amatures trying to build portfolios or with fewer than 5 years photography experience). I was looking at J Carlynn, who was recommended by several independent friends, but she doesn't seem to be able to return phone calls or emails EVER. 

Re: Need Lansing Venue and new photographer

• Options
    I love my photography, Kelly Gillespie from Looking Glass Photography.  The site is lookingglassphotography.biz if you want to check out her work. 

The Grand Ledge Opera house allows for self-catering, but that's the only place I can think of that does besides Perpective2 (but I don't try to send people their way because I think their prices/service are absurd).
  • Options
    Thanks, ChipGirl11. I had thought this was a crappy nature photographer I know of, but after giving it a look, I must have been mistaken. I'll definitely see what FH thinks and maybe schedule a meeting.

As for P2, I used to work there and the owner is a unstable nightmare, so that has never been an option. I actively discourage people from trying to host events there, and from what I've heard, their prices have more than tripled in the past couple of years. Grand Ledge isn't for us, but not a bad venue.
  • Options