Retro and Vintage Weddings
Options

Roaring 20's & 30's theme?

I am just starting out on all of my planning, but I'm always looking for great ideas!!

The wedding will be simple, we will tie in the 20's & 30's theme using my dress, my BM's dresses (20's inspired) & the groom & GM will be wearing "gangster/pin stripe" suits.

So I really just need ideas for the reception.....martini glasses? Lots of candles etc......HELP!

Thanks!!!!
Jillian*~ Wedding Countdown Ticker

Re: Roaring 20's & 30's theme?

• Options
    it looks like you and i are following along the same timelines. just got engaged two weeks ago and planning a september wedding. we are also wanting a roaring twenties theme. for the reception, we were thinking of feathers, pearls, and setting it up like a speakeasy. i just googled "roaring twenties themed wedding" and got lots of results. good luck!
    Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml
  • Options
    Another thing you ladies can do is take a look at the top of these boards and click on the planning bios link.  You'll be taken to a website with a huge list of wedding planning bios made by your fellow retro and vintage knotties, and they're organized by vintage inspiration era (so you can see some 20s and 30s inspiration bios).  Also, don't forget about checking out the married bios too to see how some of them all came together!

I hope this helps :D
    Our Wedding Website
    Image and video hosting by TinyPic image
  • Options
    Also, don't forget to scroll back through past postings on this board to see what's been posted here, already!  

And don't stress.  Easy ways to evoke that era include --
    ...playing vintage music
    ...using potted palms