Pennsylvania

NWR: Teachers Needed?

Greetings knotties of Pennsylvania, I come for a bit of advice.  I graduated in 2005 with my bachelors in elementary education and have yet to find a teaching job despite having substitute taught for years.  I've moved from Indiana to Ohio but still nothing and I grow more and more discouraged by the day as I see more schools lay off teachers.

I've heard conflicting reports about your state of Pennsylvania needing teachers.  The Pennsylvania Deparment of Education lists some teaching jobs for elementary education but I've also heard from other sources that PA has his max of teachers.  Does anyone know what the outlook is for teaching jobs there?  My Indiana license allows me to teach 1-6, and 7-8 depending and my Ohio is k-3.  Both are currently valid.

Thank you so much for your help.  I know it's not wedding related and I apologize in advance but I needed some local opinion.  Hope everyone has a good rest of their week!
Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml

Re: NWR: Teachers Needed?

• edited December 2011
    From what I know, it is very hard to get a teaching job in PA unless you want to move to the inner cities such as Philadelphia.  Pennsylvannia also does not support their teachers. My FH's mom is a teacher. Her district didn't get their mandatory step raise for 8 years and they kept going on strike to protest this and settle a contract. Well, the teachers gave up and the school didn't have to pay them any back pay at all. Alos, part of the deal for the teachers who didn't use the school's insurance was that they would get extra money every year. Well they lost that too.
  • edited December 2011