Colorado-Denver

Outdoor Weddings and Receptions- risk?

I am really new to wedding planning.   I am looking at different venues and love all of the outdoor settings Colorado has to offer.  I am looking primarily in Denver, and love the idea of the Botanical Gardens or the Denver Museum of Nature & Science.  At both venues, the outdoor settings appeal to me most- for the ceremony and the reception.  I am really nervous though about a rain plan!  We have not set a date, but I am thinking late summer because I am a teacher and that just makes the most sense to me.  So, perhaps early August.  Do you think I should worry about rain?  I know sometimes in CO we get those summer thunderstorms.  Help!  I am new to this....

Re: Outdoor Weddings and Receptions- risk?

• edited December 2011
    I may be mistaken in this, but I heard that certain sites at both of those venues do not have rain plans, so you may want to clarify that when you call or go for a visit.  For any outdoor ceremony or reception, make sure there is an acceptable indoor option available to you or be prepared to rent a tent on reserve.
    68 Looking Forward to Mtn Airimage
    31 Afraid of Altitude Sicknessimage
    4 Being Hunted By My Bounty Hunter Bridesmaid image
    Wedding Countdown Ticker May 2010 Siggy Challenge: Wedding Location imageimage{Bio} (updated 3/2)
  • edited December 2011
    I agree, make sure you have a rain plan.  You can never tell, especially that close to the mountains and that late in the summer.
    My Grandparents on their wedding day.
    Image and video hosting by TinyPic
    bio
    Repeat this to your self: My Wedding Party is made of my family and friends and I should treat them as such.
  • edited December 2011