Getting in Shape
Options

new things

What are some new things (work outs, activities, food, whatever) you are hoping to try out for the first time in the near future?

I really want to start swimming, I know its great cardio and since I injured my knees last year I am still worried about hurting them again so I think it might be a great activity for me to try out. I also want to start doing more of my lifting on a stability ball instead of a bench, I have tried it in the past but im not consistant so I would like to start doing it more often.

Re: new things

• Options
    I want to improve my endurance.  Swimming, running, anything really...I am all about big bursts of energy and I want to be able to improve this so that I won't be so scared every time FI mentions going x-country skiing at the cottage or kayaking for a day...these are things I am NOT good at so I tend to steer clear of.

I want to start doing things like pull ups and proper push ups because even if I can't do many I need to stop having a list of things that I can't do just because they are tough to do.

I really want to start doing yoga/pilates once a week because it is good for my core muscles and for stretching and flexibility. I tend not to do it because I see it as a 'waste of a trip' to the gym but really, those exercises are still important. 
  • Options
    I was JUST thinking we should do this...esp. with the new food to try. Lately I have really been trying to mix it up & try new things. I was inspired by the whole wheat pizza I had the other week & we decided to buy a pizza stone, whole wheat pizza dough from TJs, pizza sauce, skim mozzarella and fresh tomatoes to make our own pizza tonight :)

Some yummy snack-y things I have had lately are as follows...

-Vanilla Creme Brulee mini quaker rice snacks (they taste like rice crispy treats!)
    -Jello Chocolate mousse cups (60 calories) 
    -TJ's chile dried pineapple (8 pieces for 100 cals)