Kentucky-Louisville

Question for you

Hi Ladies,
Full disclosure - I'm a vendor.
I was reading the vendor reviews posted, and I was saddened to see a number of you didn't get a video of your wedding (I am a videographer.) Why not?
A video becomes a family heirloom; especially when you see folks you generally care about offering their best wishes to you.
I've been married 17 years now; we got a basic VHS video (wasn't doing videos then) and I can't tell you how much I value seeing my late grandmother and some late friends smiling and laughing and having a good time. Some here have suggested just getting it shot and getting it edited later. That is certainly better than skipping a video altogether. Your children will be fascinated and thank you.

Re: Question for you

• edited December 2011
    It's expensive and not a necessity in my opinion if you have a limited budget I'm sure it's one of the first things on the chopping block. Our budget was relatively limited so we didn't consider it. We did however have someone "flip video" the whole ceremony, parts of the reception as well as a "Well Wishes to the Bride and Groom" from nearly all the guests. I enjoyed watching the videos. It's definitely not something we'll watch often but maybe pull it out on anniversaries and something our kids could see in the future. We have the HD Flip Video slide and you can get a good deal on one. Plus you have the video recording for other things. We asked a bridemaid's boyfriend to shoot the ceremony and he had no problem at all.
  • ZachandMereZachandMere member
    First Comment
    edited December 2011
    Well...  I'm the oldest of four girls and my parents' priority was to put us through school first and wedding second.  My parents helped put me through a Bachelors and a Masters.  That being said, we have a limited budget (I'm also a teacher, so contributing to the budget isn't easy).