Canada-Ontario

Air brush makeup?

It was suggested to me to have my makeup air brushed for my wedding as it won't get shinny, etc - especially if this beautiful weather continues. Is this true? Would anyone recommend someone they have used? My hairstylist works with one, but she charges $140 - I thought this was insane. Any information / advise appreciated!
TIA!

image 220 Are ready to party!
Wedding Countdown Ticker

Re: Air brush makeup?

• As for air brushing: I do not suggest it for weddings. As a makeup artist i can tell you the honest truth about it in my opinion

The only time I do air brushing is for television. I highly believe that you get a better and flawless coverage with the proper concealor, primer and foundation. The air brushed foundation can be very heavy (especially in the summer months) and it splatters. And since I do recommend your hair be done prior to having makeup done - there is no control in regards to specs of foundation landing in your hair. The air brush foundation also contains oils that break down makeup. This means that makeup won't last as long. A regular makeup application will last anywhere from 8 to 12 hours. With air brushing - the oils will break down the makeup which usually results in only 4-6 hours of lasting results. This is why for television it is better (plus the actors have lots of lights on them which is why they need such a thick coverage) I personally picked regualr makeup for my wedding last year since I knew the results would be much better.

If you want a basic makeup application - you should be able to find someone for $50-$75 per person. if you do decide to go with air brushing, you can probably find someone for $115-$150 per person

if you have any questions - let me know!
    Orly Kahn *Makeup Artist* www.orlykahn.carbonmade.com
  • I looked into it, and that was about the going price. I found even higher than that!