Getting in Shape

I'm going to try again

This has been something that I have been meaning to do for a very long time.

Back in high school, I was very active in sports. I have asthma so this was an incentive for me to have control over it. I lettered in basketball and played field hockey. All I did was play, eat like a horse, and sleep. Looking back on it now I was in pretty decent shape. 

When I got to college I majored in musical theatre. This required me to become skilled in dancing. I summoned up the courage and joined a jazz dance class. It was hard, painful, and exhilarating all at the same time. It was wonderful when I was able to nail the dance combos! Soon it started to become like a drug. I took ballet and even modern dance. I was dancing in three different classes six times a week for about four hours a day. I shrunk from my size 20 to 14! It was amazing and I was able to wear clothes that had been hiding in the back of my closet!

Around this time I met my then BF/now FI. We were in a bad car accident. He was alright but I fractured my pelvis in four places. I was confined to a wheelchair for six months. This prevented me from dancing anymore. I had to change majors to theatre arts because school was threatening me to finish on time. 

Fortunately I was able to recover well thanks to all the dancing. My physical therapist was shocked when I was able to pull my foot to my forehead without breaking a sweat. I had to learn how to walk again which was really difficult, but I had my amazing FI to be there every step of the way. I wouldn't have done it if it weren't for him.

So now I'm at a size 22. I was in my best friend's wedding last month. I didn't really like seeing myself in the pictures. I promised myself that I was going to get healthier again but I had to start small or else I would get discouraged.