Catholic Weddings
Options

6 priests, one tiny alter, one unhappy bride.

Hello! I'm new to the Catholic board. I'm getting in married in May (less than 100 days to go!) and we've run into an issue regarding some of our guests.

FI and I are getting married in our college town, which is just a little over an hour from his home town. We're getting married at our tiny campus church and have been going through marriage prep with our priest there. He knows us both, is a really nice guy, and we're looking forward to him officiating our ceremony.

FMIL and FFIL are very active in their parish in FI's hometown. They originally wanted to invite all the priests (5) from their church, but then scaled it back to 1, we'll call Father James, who is a good friend of theirs both in and outside of church. She wanted him up there officiating with our priest. I was very opposed to this, as I only wanted the priest who knew us both as a couple officiating our ceremony, but since Father James has been very helpful in securing a much needed internship for FI, I opted to get over myself and let it slide (not to mention that Father James is technically our priest's boss, and he has his mind set on being up there, so even though I think it's rude that a stranger has decided to be part of my wedding without talking w/ me there's not much I can do about the matter).