Wedding Photography and Videography Forum

How long for wedding photos?

I was wondering how long is the average wait time to get your wedding photos from the photographer? My wedding was in October last year. To me, it seems like 9 months is too long. I have asked my photographer for them and she just says "these things take time" and that I need to be more patient.

Is this too long? Should I be more aggressive in asking for them? The contract didn't state a time that I would have my photos. Any advice? Is this the normal amount of time?

Thanks!

Re: How long for wedding photos?

• edited December 2011
    I am a professional wedding photographer and turn my wedding photos around in 3-4 weeks. This is a really short turn around time, but it fits my workflow. I would say the average would be 3-4 months for most photographers.

Also, I would take a look at your contract because most times they do have turnaround times in their contract.
  • twilight.rosetwilight.rose member
    Combo Breaker First Comment
    edited December 2011
    In Response to <a href="http://forums.theknot.com/Sites/theknot/Pages/Main.aspx/special-topic-wedding-boards_photos-video_long-wedding-photos?plckFindPostKey=Cat:Special%20Topic%20Wedding%20BoardsForum:30Discussion:4a71cb66-896d-469e-8464-a18d8bea2c59Post:c4ac78b5-62b9-4aaf-b8a7-31bc0d253ba1">Re: How long for wedding photos?</a>:
    [QUOTE]I am a professional wedding photographer and turn my wedding photos around in 3-4 weeks. This is a really short turn around time, but it fits my workflow. I would say the average would be 3-4 months for most photographers. Also, I would take a look at your contract because most times they do have turnaround times in their contract.
    Posted by photosbyrhonda[/QUOTE]
    All of this. My H is a professional wedding photographer also, and the longest its ever taken him for wedding photo turnaround was 9 weeks for an extremely photo-intensive wedding with 12 hours of coverage.