Wedding Hair, Makeup, & Beauty Forums

Gel Manicures

So after much debate I decided to have my pink and whites which I've been wearing for 5 years taken off today.  My nails were so weak I decided to get a gel manicure because my sister swears by them. How long do they usually last?  Can I do dishes and everything with them?  Will they ruin my nails even more or will they grow back healthier.  Sorry for all the questions but I'm second guessing my decision and it's only been 4 hours. On a side note- it looks so weird to have painted nails.

Image and video hosting by TinyPic Lilypie First Birthday tickers

Re: Gel Manicures

• They last up to 3 weeks without chipping.  You can do dishes, but you should keep in mind that you can't go crazy.  It will not ruin your nails at all if you get it professionally removed.  Hope this helps!

ps-I loved them compared to any other type of manicure.  I can't stand the thick nail feeling.
    Wedding Countdown Ticker Birthday
  • Hello : if your nails are weak from the acrylics I would suggest you take a week or a few off from polish completely! Use a strengthener like opi nail envy for a while until you start to see healthy new growth. I usually tell clients to layer a new coat for five days, take it off for two and restart the process. If you really need them painted I strongly reccommend a shellac manicure. It's not as harsh as a gel manicure, gives the same look and lasts about two weeks. Make sure you see the product before they apply it tons of places say its shellac and they use gel anyways because it's a cheaper product! Good luck sorry for rambling I'm a nail tech and have a passion for this stuff :
  • In Response to <a href="http://forums.theknot.com/Sites/theknot/Pages/Main.aspx/wedding-boards_wedding-beauty_gel-manicures-1?plckFindPostKey=Cat:Wedding%20BoardsForum:358Discussion:fa7df425-abb8-45a7-aa44-7f3e169d1e72Post:e6a0af93-6a34-4d88-b307-c50a5f0ebe9c">Re:Gel Manicures</a>: