Military Brides

Living apart the first year

So I'm kind of new at this, so forgive me. My fiance and I have been engaged for almost a year now. When we had first talked about getting married, we were thinking about spring of 2012, making it a 2 year engagement. Well, he is now deployed, and I graduated from college, but I am hoping to get accepted to physical therapy school, so I will have 3 more years of school. He comes home soon, so we have a bit of time before my school starts again, if I get accpeted. We've been talking about getting married before I go to school. Would being married and living across the country be too difficult, or a dumb idea for a year, until he is out of the military?

Re: Living apart the first year

• Beachy730Beachy730 member
    First Anniversary Combo Breaker First Comment
    edited December 2011
    Well H and I were LDR the whole time we dated, but we only lived about 2 hours apart so we could see eachother every weekend at least.  We got married in July, and have since PCS'd across the country.  Now H is deployed, so half of our first year of marriage we will be on other sides of the world.  Not my ideal situation by any means, but thats how it worked for us. 

I agree with PP.  Obviously its important for you to finish school, and you're doing that.  As for getting married before your 3rd year or not, thats your choice.  You could end up waiting until you're done with school, and then he could get deployed so you would be alone anywys in your first year.  There are many couples that are apart for months at a time because of work and things like that too.  Its just whats best for you and your FI.  But no, I don't see anything wrong with getting married and being apart for the first year. 
    imageBabyFruit Ticker
  • erinmoore4erinmoore4 member
    First Comment
    edited December 2011