Canada
Options

Cash Bar

KonesKones member
First Comment
Someone told me I should try to post in my area to get my answer. I am a student, and we cannot afford to pay for everyones booze. I have read that it is not okay to have a cash bar. I have been told that it is. I am not sure anymore, and I don't want to upset anyone. Is it okay to have a cash bar??

Re: Cash Bar

• Options
    ring_popring_pop member
    First Comment
    edited December 2011
    Where will your wedding be held? What are your family and friends used to?Who's told you that it's OK (other than these random people on The Knot)?I live in Toronto and every wedding I've ever attended has been open bar. I was asked by some family and friends whether we were having a cash or open bar, which leads me to believe that cash bar DOES happen in this city. But I wouldn't have a cash bar if I wasn't sure that 100% of my guests expected it.
    Baby Birthday Ticker
    Baby #2: Surprise BFP 9.19.12, EDD 5.24.13, natural m/c 10.19.13 at 9w
  • Options
    KonesKones member
    First Comment
    edited December 2011
    My friends and family are used to both. I know it would be ideal if we could have an open bar, but it is just not possible.
  • Options
    edited December 2011
    I've been to both kinds of weddings and it doesn't make a big difference - I had a great time whether I paid for my drinks or not.  Just make sure that your guests know that it's a cash bar so that they actually bring money...a few people at my friend's wedding only had debit cards so they were a little annoyed.
  • Options
    sillynutsillynut member
    First Comment
    edited December 2011
    Ive never been to a cash bar wedding. Could you maybe pull off just serving beer & wine to your guests instead of a full open bar? Good luck!
  • Options
    edited December 2011