Wedding Etiquette Forum

Are condo fees a waste of money?

What do you think? 

We bought a $350,000 3 bedroom condo.  We pay $425 a month for: snow removal, grass cutting and lawn maintenance, swimming pool, fitness centre, hot tub, sauna, lockers, parking, party room, library and water. 

I love our place, but I'm starting to think we should move soon, as we will end up spend over $4,000 a year in fees.  Another part of me says it's worth it because we will use and enjoy the amenities. 

I don't know. I'm conflicted. What do you think?
Wedding Countdown Ticker

Re: Are condo fees a waste of money?

• I have a hard time paying 700 a month for rent without feeling like I'm being screwed out of money. I can't imagine 450 a month just for fees, not to mention mortgage or rent or whatever it is that you pay for a condo.

Then again, I'm a 23 year old student en route to my masters and it's understandable that I should be broke.

IMO- I think you should get out. Fees have to be less elsewhere.
    I iz not Bridezilla.imageI iz Veloceraptor!

FOR SALE!!.

• The only one of those services I pay for is fitness - $35 a month.  Granted, some of the others cost time and not money, but $425 sounds awfully steep.  Is it possible to sell and not lose a bundle on the condo itself?
    imageFollow Me on Pinterest
  • We pay about $350 for ours and get a lot less for our money than you do.

It sounds like a lot but, think about how much you would have to pay for some of those things outside of the condo fee:

If you had a pool - would maintence cost more?  If you had a separate gym membership? All those different things.

If you consider it that way - that you might be paying for some of it anyway - you may find it costs the same or more outside the condo; but you have the added benefit that you don't actually have to do the work - no snow shoveling, no pool skimming, no grass mowing.