Ohio-Cleveland

Cleveland Metro Parks Zoo Reception???

Has anyone had their reception at the Cleveland Zoo?? I'm just beginning my wedding planning ( with a tentative date of October 5, 2012). We're looking for reasonably priced with both catering and reception. From what I've seen on their site, it's 1200 rental fee, but nothing on food and alcohol (other than no outside caterers).

Re: Cleveland Metro Parks Zoo Reception???

• JKohioJKohio member
    First Anniversary Combo Breaker First Comment
    edited December 2011
    We looked into them, but discounted them quickly. They were above our budget. It would have been super-cool though. It's been so long that I don't remember pricing. Hopefully, someone with more recent experience will chime in. FWIW, our budget for the whole wedding shebang was $15k, with about half of that for reception-related stuff.
    Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml
  • edited December 2011
    I will be attending a wedding their in July in the Primate Cat area.  I have no clue what the cost, but I am sure it will be one of the coolest weddings I have been to.
  • Megaphone2752Megaphone2752 member
    First Comment
    edited December 2011

Our wedding is going to be there on July 9th! We're really excited about it! The staff as been awesome to work with! We moved away from Cleveland in July, but they let us do our food tasting and everything before we left. They are also very quick to respond to e-mails and it's been a really great experience so far.
     It is $1,200 to rent the Primate, Cat, and Aquatic building for the night. Cocktail hour is in the aquarium part of the building beginning at 7:30pm after the zoo closes. We're having a seated dinner which runs about $25 a plate. The bar is pretty pricey. It's $16.00/person for the first two hours and then $4/hour for each additional hour. We're going to do a total of three hours for $20/person and have it close during dinner to save a little bit.