Just Engaged and Proposals

Ok, Advice Please

My fiance proposed on August 13 this year.  I told him that I didn't want a ring, so he proposed without one.  We are both rather poor financially and in a lot of debt (I am a student; he recently started his own videography company).  I ended up getting a lot more financial aid this year than expected, so I told him he could use some of it to get a ring if he really wanted to.  The problem is that he got a ring that I don't like and spent way more money on it than we have.  He asked me on several occassions what my perfect ring is, and I told him.  He works in a jewelry store, so he notices the imperfections and things like that a diamond has in it.  I don't care about those things.  I don't want to be a brat, but I feel hurt and betrayed that he didn't take my feelings or ideas into consideration.  I feel even worse since I'm paying for over half the ring and will have to pay this money back in loans in the future.  I am happy to be with him and don't want anyone else, but I can't help feeling this way.  It is a pretty ring, but it's just not something I would have picked out for myself, you know?   

Re: Ok, Advice Please

• Sticky situation... it's never a good idea to go into debt for a ring/wedding, but he was clearly acting out of love for you and wanting to get you a beautiful ring that you deserved.  It's pretty rude to return a ring though... he probably wouldn't be too happy about that.  It's probably best to talk with him to discuss your worries about paying it off and see what he says.