Wedding Etiquette Forum
Options

coworkers, invites, and school politics

I know there are a lot of posts about this, but I am really undecided on what to do. 

I work in a school district & am considered a "district employee" (meaning I am not a teacher), but I work in 2 buildings. I have been in the district for 4 years & have my district department, plus my teams in my buildings. My department (12 people) is very excited for me & I feel that most of them think they are invited, as they have stated they are "sooo excited for my wedding." I am going to invite 1 person from my dept, but I hang out with her outside of work & we are good friends. I am also close with my team in my building and feel that they will be hurt if they do not get an invite. I feel totally obligated to invite my principals, since they were invited to other co-workers weddings last year. 

I also have a fellow team member in my bldg that is getting married a couple weeks before me & we talk about inviting coworkers since we feel if one does it, then the other one has to in order to avoid a mess. 

I simply cannot afford to invite everyone, nor feel that I need to. I have no idea how to address the subject. We go back to work next week & I am scared that people will start to "fish" for invites. I especially feel torn because I have worked there so long & if I could afford it, I would invite them. Do I send "courtesy" invites? Our wedding is out of state, so I don't know how many of them would actually travel. How do I appropriately address this and avoid the fallout from school politics??  HELP!!!!
Wedding Countdown Ticker

Re: coworkers, invites, and school politics

• Options
    It's time to talk less about your wedding at work and learn the mantra "very small, mostly family." That way, people stop expecting invitations.

It sounds like there's one person you see out of work and want to invite. Invite her (and her SO).