Moms and Maids

Bachelorette Party - What's reasonable?

This is my first time being in a wedding party in the US. I'm the MOH and have taken on planning the bachelorette and bridal showers with help from some of the other BMs. 

My bride has an unlimited budget for the wedding, but unfortunately her BMs/friends do not. She has requested a bachelorette weekend in Vegas. She has also given me a guest list of 20+ girls. There is airfare, hotel, food, drinks, shows, nights out to consider for all the attendees, plus some of the bride's expenses to be split. Most of the girls will only be an hour flight away, but some are coming from across country. Regardless the weekend will cost a bit of money for everyone involved.

As the hosts of the bachelorette weekend, am I and the other BMs within our right to ask the bride to either scale down her expectations (ie, not Vegas, and keep it 'local' withing California), or if we do go to Vegas, can we reduced her guest list (at least one of the bachelorette invitees is not invited to the ceremony, which seems tacky to me)? 20+ people attempting to coordinate anything in Vegas just seems like a huge mess. 

Re: Bachelorette Party - What's reasonable?

• Wow. That seems super unresonable to me. As a bride-to-be in June, not "putting out" my bridesmaids has been a big concern of mine... I even managed to find their dresses on sale at JCrew b/c I didn't want them to have to spend more than $100, esentially for me. I would never in a million years expect them to splurge on such an expensive and time-consuming affair!

That said, I am coming from a place where money has always been tight for me and I am easily able to put myself in their shoes. Unfortunately it is easy for some brides to get caught up in the whole 'everything's all about me" aspect of a wedding.