Moms and Maids

FMIL Issues PLEASE READ AND RESPOND

I've been planning since August 10' and our wedding is now 2 1/2 months away (in July). These past months have been SO very stressful for me, aside from having to plan the wedding, I am a student. So needless to say I don't need any extra stressors.

FYI: My parents have offered to pay for the wedding

Now for the issue at hand, My FMIL is pushy! MY FI is completely on the otherside of that spectrum. I am irritated! My issue with her started months ago. When we first got engaged, his aunt was trying to offer us some of her old dishes and furniture, that was extremely dated and not at all our style. While it is free, neither of us wanted it, and wouldnt be a strech to buy our own, so we declined. His mother tells his aunt that we'll take it until we find something new. And moves is here. Um, what?!  Long story short: We didn't take it. 

Second issue, the guest lists. When we frst compiled the guest list it was well over 300 people. Our venue only hold 175 so he HAD to cut it down. Long story short, after making an agreement with my fiancee that we would only invite those who we know would show and those who we are close to, his mother insists that the people on HER list must be there. These are people my FI doesnt even know mind you. Long story short: They are not on the list

I'll skip down the timeline to present day. Just know that from then to now, we've bumped heads about our colors, the guest list again, and some other non wedding related stuff. So last week she called to ask who we wanted to invite to the dinner and in what city we wanted it to be in. I told her just the parents and the bridal party and the city/general area I wanted to keep it in.

Then this past weekend she TELLS me that she's pretty sure other guests would want to come to the rehearsal party so we should plan for them and that she reserved a block of rooms for extra guests. WHAT?!