Honeymoon Discussions
Options

Italy for only one week.. What to do??

My fiance and I are doing DW in Aruba so we wanted to go somewhere more active for our HM. We want to do Italy but we only have 7 nights. Has anyone done Italy in that length of time? Most posts have spent 10+ nights in Italy so I have no idea how I should budget my time withoul feeling rushed.

Is there somewhere we can stay for all 7 nights that would let us take day trips to most of the major cities?

Or should we fit in 2 nights per city? It's so hard deciding which cities to decide on but was thinking Rome, Venice, Florence, and maybe a day trip to Amalfi Coast. 

Re: Italy for only one week.. What to do??

• Options

I studied abroad in Rome and it is really your best choice for accessibility and max sight seeing. I do think you are trying to cram too many places in at once, which will lead you to missing some great stuff and not enjoying the culture of each place.  Italy isn't going anywhere, you should save some stops for an anniversary trip.

That said, I reccomend bunking in Rome and taking an overnight trip to Florence (it can be done in a short period of time via train) and maybe to Venice too. Unless you are very into art, you should choose Venice over Florence. Florence is lovely but I have always found it sort of boring. Venice is awesome to spend a couple of days walking around and absorbing.  What time of year are you going? I wouldn't do Amalfi coast unless its the summer and you can really enjoy the beachy atmosphere.

So basically, stay in Rome, and take a train to Venice for a couple nights, and then go back to Rome. With seven days, that is really the best option. And have fun! Rome is one of the best and most romantic cities in the world!

Dreaming of our Hawaiian honeymoon! Wedding Countdown Ticker
  • Options
    Depends on the kind of honeymoon you want.