Missouri-Kansas City

Negotiating Prices

Is this an option with vendors? I'm brand new at this. My main focus right now is getting the reception venue. For a larger guestlist (250-300), the cost just adds up so much! Is it unheard of to fight for lower prices? It seems like I'll be able to save more using outside caterers, but sometimes it's not necessarily true (caterer fees, kitchen fees). Ugh, I don't know. Suggestions, anyone?

Wedding Countdown Ticker

Re: Negotiating Prices

• edited December 2011
    I've heard of other people negotiating prices down, but I was way too much of a pansy to try it myself.  I know it's a cliche, but really, the worst they can do is say no.  They (presumably) want your business, so I'd think they'd at least be willing to have a civil conversation about it, particularly with that many guests.
  • edited December 2011
    It's worth a shot.  Even if you can negotiate down the price (or get rid of) extra fees for outside catering, stuff like that adds up.  When we worked with our reception venue, we told them what we wanted, and what we were willing to pay; that went very well.

For caterers, it's much easier to tell them the number of people and your budget rather than choosing from a menu.  Let them figure out how to make it work.

In my experiences, almost everyone is willing to come down on prices or at least waive some fees (ie no delivery fee for flowers, cake).

Good luck!
  • edited December 2011
    Ugh, I totally know what you mean!! Some places will work with you, some will not. I have found that out the hard way. My FAVORITE place, the place I want our recepetion so bad won't work with us. And my fiance finally said if they won't work with us now what will do on our wedding? I thought it was a a good point and I'm over the heart break now, and looking for different recepetion places :)