New York

Advice on count for catering...

Someone posted this on my month board (they had seen things about it on the July board)

"Most of the brides over there "low-balled" their final count to the caterer to account for last minute no shows. I have about 170 YES's, and about 4 are young kids, who don't count. So about 166. I am going to give a final count of 160 to the caterer! Most caterers bring 10% more food than they will need, so even if all the people show up, we'll still have enough food, but we will save money if people decided not to show! "

For those of you already married, do you think this is a good idea?? If you aren't married yet, do you think you will do this?! Now it has me thinking!
Daisypath - Personal pictureDaisypath Anniversary tickers

Re: Advice on count for catering...

• edited December 2011
    I am new to this, and haven't started planning this far into it, but I'm not sure I would personally be comfortable doing that. This is also because I am having a plated dinner, so every piece of tenderloin/chicken/whatever needs to be accounted for, I imagine. If you're doing buffet style, it might be safer? My personal advice is against this idea.
    Photobucket
  • edited December 2011
    I only had 4 no shows.... don't know if that helps or not, but I would not go too low.  Some caterers charge extra if your number is higher than anticipated (in addition to the per person price)...
    Miss Mrs. New & Improved Blog Chart
    Online Garage Sale
    Daisypath Anniversary tickers
    monica & kevin married 5.28.11
    bfp 8.11.11 - m/c 8.17.11
    bfp 11.11.11 - edd 7.25.12
    Lilypie Pregnancy tickers
  • edited December 2011