Military Brides

To wait or not...

This is my first time posting here. My boyfriend (who is in the army) and I have been "secretly" engaged since September. We were just waiting till both of us have more money before he got me a ring and we went public with the engagement. Now, he's going to deploy for a whole year next February. If we waited till he got back, it'll be 2 & 1/2 to 3 years before we could get married. We'd both like to get married before he deploys but neither of us really have money. And if we somehow got the money, would it be wise to marry shortly before he deploys? Any advice is welcome.

Re: To wait or not...

• Beachy730Beachy730 member
    First Anniversary Combo Breaker First Comment
    edited December 2011
    Well my general advice is to wait through a deployment and see how your relationship changes based on that.  Deployments can make or break a couple, and you really never know how it will affect you until you go through it. 

Why are you "secretly" engaged?  Does your family not approve, or think you are too young?  Only you know what's right for you, but it makes me wonder if they don't approve if you're keeping it a secret. 

Only you and him know what is right for you.  Getting married right before a deployment sucks.  H got deployed 3 months after our wedding, and while I don't regret how we did it, it does suck sometimes to have all these "firsts" as a married couple that we aren't together for.  At our 2 year anniversary we will have spent about 10 months together.  But we were both 26 when we got married and knew it was right for us.  I know that at 21 or maybe even 24 I probably couldn't handle this like I can now, but everyone is different.  What seems right to you?
    imageBabyFruit Ticker
  • kyrgyzstankyrgyzstan member
    First Anniversary 5 Love Its Name Dropper Combo Breaker
    edited December 2011