Getting in Shape

Snacking problems!

So now being newly engaged and planning our wedding we' d like to lose .  little bit of weight in the next year and tone up so we can enter our marriage healthy and looking our best! Who doesn't! We have  loads of recipes for all major meals throughout the day and I'm a pro at trolling for new ones . My problem is snacking . I love snacks! Also I'm a night shift nurse and we usually LIVE on snacks to survive the night . anyone have any tips or idea for healthy, sustainable snacks? I know fruit is a good option, but I'm looking for some new ideas! 
Wedding Countdown Ticker

Re: Snacking problems!

• I personally love a wedge of laughing cow cheese (light of course) with 11 butter braid pretzels (half a serving) - it comes in around 100 calories and is a nice salty snack (way better than potato chips - though I admit not all that healthy in general).

I also always make sure to keep granola bars around - I try to get the ones that are higher in protein and/or fiber and lower in sugar. If you like cooking, I know there are a lot of recipes for healthy granola bars out there that you can make yourself.

I know a lot of people bring raw veggies like carrot sticks and whatnot - I wish I liked raw veggies enough for that, but it might be a good option for you. Veggies with hummus maybe?
  • Hardboiled eggs are a lifesaver for me. It's so easy to boil a bunch ahead of time and take with you wherever. And they're so nutritious and filling! Greek yogurt (plain, not with the added sugar and flavours) is also a great option. Add some almond butter to your fruit for a boost of nutrients, as well as a bit of fat to slow down the digestion of the sugars from the fruit and to help control satiety.