Wedding Vows & Ceremony Discussions

toga/roman wedding

Hello all!  I'm a newbie, just got engaged last weekend! :)  My parents knew it was coming bc my fiance asked for my hand in marriage, so they are already on full planning mode, which is the reason I am on here already :)

Here is the background to my question- My fi and I met at a toga party 5 years ago and had our first kiss in togas, so we are seriously considering having a toga themed wedding because not only is it fun and unique (which completely fits our personalities) it is also sentimental to us.  I have been asking peoples advice and I have gotten a lot of mixed reivews, mainly people saying "it sounds like a fun idea, but do you think I will regret it?"   Honestly, no, I don't think I will regret it, but I do have my doubts, although my fi has his heart set on the idea.

My question is- who has had a very unique wedding and how did it turn out? Do you regret it?  Any suggestions on how I can make a roman/toga wedding classy and unique, and not just turn into a college party/remake of Animal House?

Thanks in advance for any help and advice you can provide! :)

PS.. my parents are completely on board with the idea b/c they also got married in an non-traditional way, on a lake with my mom in a white dress and my dad in a hawaiin shirt.. the pics I have seen are beautiful!

Re: toga/roman wedding

• Catwoman708Catwoman708 member
    First Anniversary 5 Love Its First Comment
    edited July 2010

It's perfectly fine to have a non-traditional wedding, or a fun theme for decorations and the WP attire. 

But if you expect your guests to also wear costumes, even if it's optional, then you are crossing the line into ridiculous. 

Yes, there are many classier ways to add subtle touches for a more sophisticated "Romanesque" look, it doesn't have to be a sheet draped across one shoulder, lol.