Wedding Etiquette Forum
Options

Use father or stepfather last name on invitations

Long story short...my mother got remarried when I was 3 years old. My stepfather has been there for me throughout my whole life. My father passed away when I was 10, but I am still very close with all of his family. 
When I was in school, my mother used my stepfathers last name on everything, so I was known as one last name, but after I graduated (15 years ago) I have used my legal (fathers last name) 
My mother is adament that I use my stepfathers last name on the invitation instead of the name I have used for the last 15 years. She says that everyone we will invite knows me as one last name, and they will feel bad that his name is not on the invitation. I told her, that will be teh same way that my fathers family will all feel as well. I suggested hyphenating my name on the invitation (although I prefer not to) but feel like I dont want to hurt anybodys feelings. 
Part 2---My mother feels their names should be on the invitation, even though my fiance and myself are footing the whole wedding with no help. I tried to explain nicely to my mother that etiquette says if the bride and groom are paying the wedding, that the parents names probably not be on the invitation, but we could put Along with their parents.....and so on. She became upset about this too. Can I please have some suggestions? Thank you.

Re: Use father or stepfather last name on invitations

• Options
    Use your actual name.  

You can include "daughter of" and "son of" if you want to include your parents' names, but it isn't necessary.  
  • Options
    I'd use your actual name on the invitation.  Or not use a last name at all and just use a first/middle for both you and the groom.  

Hosting does not equal paying, but it doesn't sound like your mom is paying OR hosting, so you have no obilgation to list her on the invitation.
  • Options
    I would use your real name and "Together with our families" 

• Options