Catholic Weddings

Newbie Introduction & Request for Advice

Hello!

I am brand new to theknot and I wanted to introduce myself. I am Cate, and I'm marrying a wonderful man, who is a member of the Marine Corps. He got orders early, and because of that, we are moving our wedding from January 2012 to July 2011. Theoretically, July 1 or July 2--we're touring reception venues with our mothers next weekend.  We decided on July yesterday. 

I am at peace with the fact that everything will be simpler and less elaborate than I originally imagined, because we're working on a shorter time schedule. Marrying my fiance is my dream.

Because it is a holiday weekend, military chapels at the local post will not perform weddings, so we need to find a church in the local community. I was expecting to have the full 6 months. Now, I am concerned that all the churches will be booked or we won't be able to find a priest willing to waive the 6 months notice. Do any of you ladies have advice? Know of wonderful churches in Arlington or Alexandria sympathetic to active duty military and compressed schedules? I appreciate anything you can tell me!

PS: I plan to cross post this in the military brides board--please tell me if that is rude or not done. Thanks!

Re: Newbie Introduction & Request for Advice

• edited December 2011
    We had to swap venues in Feb- about three months before our upcoming May wedding. They waived the six month time period, but we still had to do pre cana and the like.

Good luck, and congrats!
  • doctabroccolidoctabroccoli member
    First Comment
    edited December 2011
    Welcome!

I would recommend posting this on your local board since you'll run across more people who will know of churches in your area :).
    BabyFruit Ticker
    Waiting to meet the baby broccoli on 5/5/2013!
  • edited December 2011
    Welcome!

And tell your FI thank you for his service. God Bless him and all of our troops.