Moms and Maids
Options

My mom won't listen. vent.

My mom is in Dallas and I am here in Chicago.  I am empathetic to the fact that I am her only daughter and she cannot be here to physically wedding plan with me and meet with vendors and such.

However.  I have been trying to include her on everything -- telling her about conversations I have with vendors, pricing, details of places, etc. etc.  I want her to feel totally include.

But. SHE IS DRIVING ME CRAZY!!!  She doesn't seem to understand the concept of the cost of things now vs. the cost of when she got married over 30 years ago to my dad!!  She feels that the pricing from photographers ive gotten is outrageous, when in fact, they are comparable to our market area.  She also seems to think that I need to try the food at every venue that I visit before I book a place -- all of which (according to other knotties as well) that people don't normally do that, at least in the Chicagoland area.

I am a researcher by nature, so I would hope that she would trust in what I say and that since I am paying for 52% of the wedding (her paying 24% and FI parents paying 24%) that she realize I am sticking to my budget and trust that I have a sense for what I am doing.

I am not saying I know EVERYTHING about weddings.. because this is my first and only wedding and I clearly don't know everything.  But I research, and read and read and read and compare... and she knows that I've been doing this.. but she still insists that I know nothing and that everything I am doing is overpriced. 

Its driving me batty.  I've held my tongue up until now, but i'm ready to explode.

Please, any MOB's out there... either give me a reality check that i'm being ridiculous or give me a way to not explode on my mom.

ETA:  She feels my photographer choices are too expensive and she "just googled photographers in chicago and found one for $X amount of dollars -- see you just aren't looking hard enough!"   OMG seriously?