Students

people can be so rude! vent!

I'm a dance teacher and one of my students was talking about boys and I jokingly said she shouldn't be thinking about boys (she's 16 and totally boy crazy) and then another and "you're one to talk" since they know I'm 21 and engaged (no date or planning yet- after grad school, so around 23ish) but the mother who was standing there was like, "excuse me, how old are you?" I said 21 and the look on her face was just horrified! Then I felt like I needed to explain myself (we've been together for 6 years and have been long distance for our whole undergrad) and she was still taken back. I'm so irritated with her for being rude, but also myself for feeling like I owe anyone an explanation... anyone else ever feel like this? Thanks for letting me vent :) 

Re: people can be so rude! vent!

• I've gotten this look before not only from complete strangers but from FI's mom!! I'm 21 and will be 22 when we get married next year we've been together for 4 years and have a child togehter. and people still judge us! DOn't let it get you down!! I always tell them "You can help who you love.and when it's right it's right and there is nothing you can say to change that."
  • I'm 22, I don't get looks really, I get the infamous disappointed 'ohs.' My FI is asked questions such as 'are you really getting married?' 'how do you know she's the one?' and they think he's just pulling their legs since he's 19 and is only a freshman in college. But we love each other and that's how we settle people and the reactions down.
    Wedding Countdown Ticker
  • In Response to <a href="http://forums.theknot.com/Sites/theknot/Pages/Main.aspx/special-topic-wedding-boards_students_people-can-rude-vent?plckFindPostKey=Cat:Special%20Topic%20Wedding%20BoardsForum:684Discussion:c0c96714-98d5-427b-9731-25bac28d1d1ePost:891b07b6-5c18-4c9f-ad27-3ed5989e4909">Re: people can be so rude! vent!</a>: