Moms and Maids

FMIL/FBIL drama

FI and I got engaged 5 months ago and ever since then, I've been planning the wedding. Close friends and family know when the wedding is, etc, and I've already booked venues. A few days ago, FI's brother found out he was going to be deployed one month prior to our wedding and he was going to be best man. He's apologized he won't be able to make it.

Over Thanksgiving, FMIL told us that we should change our wedding to accomodate him. I know we do have some wiggle room as our wedding is about 17 months away, but I'm a grad student and incredibly busy. She kept bugging FI and abour it alll day. I stood my ground and I told her that we're not going to move it. However, I told her that I wanted to honor him in some way and we even came up with the idea, however tacky, of having a cardboard cut-out of him standing with the rest of the GM.

Am I being too insensitive or "bridezilla-y" to not consider moving my wedding for him?

Re: FMIL/FBIL drama

• redheadedgeekredheadedgeek member
    First Comment
    edited December 2011
    I don't think you're being Bridezilla-ish but I am curious why you aren't interested in moving the date. What are your FI's feelings on this? What are your FBIL's feelings on this? If you wedding date is 17 months away there is definetley wiggle room. Being deployed isn't the same as someone not being able to make a wedding. If, god forbid, something happen to your FBIL, I think it would be nice if he had been able to stand with his brother.
    i carry your heart with me (i carry it in my heart) e.e.cummings Wedding Countdown Ticker
  • redheadedgeekredheadedgeek member
    First Comment
    edited December 2011
    One more thing; by referring to this situation as "FMIL/FBIL Drama" well that does make you sound a little insensitive. Military service isn't drama, it's life. I don't think you are trying to be insensitive but I suspect you are not looking at the full picture. Smile