October 2013 Weddings

Planning so far ahead

My name is Missa, and my wedding date October 26, 2013. It is a longer engagement then I would have wanted, but there is good reasoning behind it. I always wanted an October wedding but my FBIL is getting married Sept. 2012. They have been engaged to two years, and I didn't want to cause any strife or problems with my future in-law family by getting married so quickly after them, especially after such a shorter engagement. I know we should just do what we want but weddings are very important in my FI's family and it would cause too much drama, and hurt feelings. I don't want that.

But I am having a hard time coming up with a time line. When should I start to plan? When should I start to put down deposits? When should I start to buy decor, supplies, and accessories? I have no background to go back on because my small family always had such short engagements. My mom and dad got married at the courthouse. My brother got married within a month of being engaged, and my sister got engaged last night, she is planning the wedding for this August.

What have you girls gotten done so far? Any tips on how to make it less complicated?