Pre-wedding Parties

Can I have a Bridal Shower/ Bachelorette party if I’m having a small court house ceremony?

My FH and I have been together for 9 years and finally decided to make it official. We don’t want a wedding, just a court house thing.  My friends have told me that they are planning a bridal shower and a bachelorette party for me I have told them that I didn’t think it would be appropriate but they seem to have ignored me. And his friends have made it clear that there will be a bachelor party. Is it ok to have a shower? Even though we won’t be having a traditional reception, can we still have a brunch type party to celebrate? I have no desire to get presents, and honestly I didn’t except to have any kind of party thrown for me but now I am getting worried that I might have to have a big party if we have a bridal shower so that I can give back to the people who attended the bridal shower. I am not against having some type of celebration and my FH and I have been entertaining the idea of having a big party for close friends and family, but if we don’t does that make us look rude? I’d love to get some opinions. I am terrible with wedding etiquette and at this point I’m wishing we would have just eloped :)

Re: Can I have a Bridal Shower/ Bachelorette party if I’m having a small court house ceremony?

• Yes, you can certainly have a shower and bachelorette party, if someone wants to throw it and people want to come!  People often throw these parties for you to celebrate this milestone and to give you presents, and many want to do that no matter how you're doing the wedding.  And you don't need to throw them a party in return -- you throw a reception to thank people for coming to your (non-private) wedding ceremony (which you're not doing here), not for throwing you a pre-wedding party.