Illinois-Chicago

Booking Hair and Makeup

Hi Ladies,
I am 10 months out from the big day and I am trying to book all of my big vendors before I go back to work next week (I am a teacher).  I am curious as to when you all booked your hair and makeup artists.  I have all of the other big things booked, but I am not sure if it is too soon to do this one.  Thanks for all of your help!!

Re: Booking Hair and Makeup

• edited December 2011
    I haven't yet. I was wondering when to do all of this as well!
  • edited December 2011
    I actually booked my makeup artist a year and a half in advance.  I was lucky to have contacted her so early - she raised her prices A LOT a month later! 

With hair, I contacted someone six months beforehand and gave her a deposit.  Then a few weeks later, she and her husband got a job offer to do a comedy show on a cruise ship on the day of my wedding...I ended up finding a hair stylist two weeks before the wedding - used a friend's stylist.

GL!
  • topchef33topchef33 member
    First Comment
    edited December 2011
    I'm still trying to find a MUA, so I'm not sure when I'll book. Hopefully before the end of the year.

Sonia Roselli looks great, but the prices are high when you figure in day of makeup and a trial....and travel to NWI.

Anniversary [center]My Chart[/center] Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker
  • edited December 2011
    I booked my vendor a month or so ago, and i'm about 12 months away from our wedding date!  there were some AWESOME MUA out there but they were WAY too expensive... I want to look hawt on my wedding day, but I cant give away my arm and leg to do so :)
  • edited December 2011
    I know so many people on here rave about Sonia Roselli....but I have a different experience.

I thought the person I dealt with to try to book her was really rude, and when she was breaking down prices....it got RIDICULOUS to book for a wedding party.