May 2012 Weddings
Options

budget??!

Hey!!
I'm completely new at this-- i keep looking at all these just engaged articles and they say planning a budget is one of the most important things to do, but i have no idea how much it should be. Can anyone tell me the average amount people set aside for weddings?? Help! =/
thanks,
Rianne

Re: budget??!

• Options
    jenandcrisjenandcris member
    First Anniversary First Comment
    edited June 2010
    This (<-- is clicky!!!) link should give you the average cost of a wedding your area. The average varies from city to city, state to state.

For example, my FI and I are getting married in Boston. Couples getting married within the 02116 zip code (where our reception will be) spend between $23,990 and $39,983. Where I grew up in the 01850 zip code, just 30 miles north of Boston, couples spend between $14,680 and $24,466. It's a big difference within such a short distance.

Personally, I think that the budget is the most important factor in a wedding. It basically dictates every single thing you're able to do, spend/book. And I don't think you should determine a budget by the average amount spent, but by the amount that you and your FI are able to set aside for it. I wouldn't go broke or lose the deposit my FI and I have saved up for him to have my "dream wedding." To me, that's just not reasonable.
    Married in Boston, MA: Nov 8, 2013.
    Me: 27. Him: 30. DD: >1.
    Vow Renewal in Beavercreek, OH: July 1, 2017.
  • Options
    thank you soo much!! i'll definitely check it out :)
  • Options
    Np! (o: GL!!!
    Married in Boston, MA: Nov 8, 2013.
    Me: 27. Him: 30. DD: >1.
    Vow Renewal in Beavercreek, OH: July 1, 2017.
  • Options
    This is something I need to figure out too! There is actually a budget tool here on the knot which looks helpful....http://planning.theknot.com/wedding-budget.