Military Brides

Newbie with questions! (kind of long)

Hi everyone!  I'm new to the military brides board, as my fiance has just been called to active duty from IRR.  He's due to report at Ft Benning on Feb 28 and our wedding is planned for August 28.  He has filed for a delay/exepmption since his contract was due to expire in April and we've already made all of the deposits for our wedding.  We're keeping our fingers crossed but aren't getting our hopes up that his orders will change.  We're both kind of in shock, since it was soooo close to his contract being up and we had both let ourselves think that nothing would happen and his obligation was finished.  Big mistake!

I want to be prepared for if and when he has to deploy.  I don't know the first thing about being an army wife so I definitely have some questions!  I feel like if he does deploy that I would want to get married before he left.  Is this common?  I know there are some financial benefits attached to this, and although we're getting by, it would really help me while he is gone.  I just finished grad school and we're trying to save up for a house so I feel like the extra income would help us build up some savings.  Please don't take this as I want to get married for the benefits, it would be helpful but really I just want to do it because of all of the 'what ifs' attached to deployment...I'd regret it forever if the worst happened and we didn't marry before he left.   I'd like to be able to join the FRG or Wives Club for support during this time, and I don't know if that's eligible to me as a fiancee.  I don't plan on relocating and since we live about 20min from Ft Belvoir (our wedding is supposed at the Officers Club there), am wondering if I'd be able to gain access and join the groups there?